67 countries sign the Arms Trade Treaty

Mali diplomat with members of Control Arms on the day of the signature of the ATT.

The Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) adopted by the UN General Assembly on 2 April 2013 opened for signature on 3 June 2013, and it will come into effect 90 days after being ratified by a minimum of 50 UN member states. It is expected that the necessary ratifications could be finished in just over a year.


The first day for the signing (3 June 2013) more than 67 countries from all continents, among them 23 from the EU and 9 from Africa signed the Arms Trade Treaty. Among the signatories there were quite a few countries greatly affected by unregulated arms transfers and three of the biggest exporter: Germany, France and Britain.  The United States, the main world arms exporter, issued a statement saying they will sign but are still checking the accuracy of the official translations.  Key arms exporters including Russia and China are not expected to sign on and major importers including India and Egypt have given no indication that they will sign it. Yet the treaty's ultimate strength rests on support by all major arms exporters and importers.


The signing of the Arms Trade Treaty will make more difficult the transfer of arms thus giving hope to the millions affected by armed violence all over the world. The Treaty is not perfect, there are loopholes but it is a historical breakthrough.


The Arms Trade Treaty is a landmark regulating the multibillion-dollar global arms trade. It aims to set standards for all cross-border transfers of conventional weapons ranging from small arms to tanks and attack helicopters. It will also create binding requirements for states to review cross-border arms contracts to ensure that weapons will not be used in human rights abuses, terrorism, violations of humanitarian law or organised crime.


THANKS to everyone who has helped the big powers feel pressure to meet their shared obligations.  


Photos of the  diplomats with the members of Control Arms, http://bit.ly/attfoto

Photos des signataires lors de la signature:


Original Articles: World Council of Churches: http://www.oikoumene.org/en/press-centre/news/sign-early-and-save-lives-1

Original Articles: 680 News: http://www.680news.com/2013/06/03/un-arms-trade-treaty-opens-for-signature-monday-with-key-sellers-and-buyers-expected-to-sign/


The list of signatory states:

1. Argentina (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

2. Bahamas (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

3. Costa Rica Ministry of Foreign Affairs

4. Dominican republic (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

5. Estonia (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

6. Finland (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

7. Grenada (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

8. Trinidad and Tobago (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

9. Australia (Ministry of defence materiel)

10. Spain (Ministry of industry)

11. Ireland (Ministry of State)

12. Italy (Vice Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

13. Mexico (Under secretary of HR affairs)

14. Norway (States Secretary)

15. UK

16. Albania (Permanent representative)

17. Antigua and Barbuda (permanent representative)

18. Austria

19. Belgium

20. Belize (permanent representative)

21. Benin (permanent representative)

22. Brazil (permanent representative)

23. Burkina Faso

24. Burundi (permanent representative)

25. Chile (permanent representative)

26. Cote d’Ivoire (permanent representative)

27. Croatia (permanent representative)

28. Cyprus (permanent representative)

29. Czech Republic (permanent representative)

30. Denmark (permanent representative)

31. Djibouti (permanent representative)

32. France (permanent representative)

33. Greece (permanent representative)

34. Guyana (permanent representative)

35. Hungary (permanent representative)

36. Jamaica (permanent representative)

37. Japan ((permanent representative to the CD)

38. Latvia (permanent representative)

39. Lichtenstein (permanent representative)

40. Lithuania (permanent representative)

41. Luxembourg (permanent representative)

42. Mali (permanent representative)

43. Malta ((permanent representative)

44. Montenegro (permanent representative)

45. Mozambique (permanent representative)

46. Netherlands (permanent representative)

47. New Zealand (Amb for Disarmament)

48. Palau

49. Panama (permanent representative)

50. Portugal (permanent representative)

51. Republic of Korea (permanent representative)

52. Romania (permanent representative)

53. Saint Lucia (permanent representative)

54. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (permanent representative)

55. Senegal (permanent representative)

56. Seychelles (permanent representative)

57. Slovenia

58. Sweden (Ambassador)

59. Switzerland (permanent representative)

60. Uruguay (permanent representative)

61. Iceland (permanent representative)

62. Tanzania (permanent representative)

63. Germany (Foreign Ministry) (signed in the afternoon)

64. Mauritania (permanent representative) (signed in the afternoon)

65. Surinam (permanent representative) (signed in the afternoon)

66. Togo (permanent representative) (signed in the afternoon)

67. Tuvalu (permanent representative) (signed in the afternoon)


Go back